The 2012 All-Star Consumer Representatives at the NAIC

We at Health Access California are really pleased that our Director of Administrative Advocacy, Elizabeth Abbott, has been reappointed as a designated consumer advocate at the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

Today, the NAIC has named 28 consumer liaison representatives for 2012. These handful of consumer advocates attend the conference calls and in-person meetings of the Insurance Commissioners from around the country, where they are typically outnumbered by hundreds (yes, hundreds–sometimes 1500 or more) insurance lobbyists and representatives.

The NAIC is a critical venue in the implementation of health reform, and is actually cited and given a specific role at least a dozen times in the Affordable Care Act. Beth Abbott and others have been very active in everything from the very contentious battle on the definition of the medical loss ratio, to the development of “model legislation” on the implementation of other key consumer protections. There work next year will be crucial in the development of policy to transition states to a new world where insurers will no longer be allowed to deny people for pre-existing conditions.

Here’s the list of your 2012 all-star consumer representatives, some who focsu on health issues, others who focus on property & casualty, and other lines of insurance.

The three from California include:
* Elizabeth Abbott: Director of Administrative Advocacy, Health Access
* Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders
* Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocates

The others include:
* Deeia Beck: Public Counsel, Office of Public Insurance Counsel/Texas
* Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research
* Sabrina Corlette: Research Professor, Georgetown University Health Policy Institute
* Brenda J. Cude: Professor, University of Georgia
* Joseph P. Ditre: Executive Director, Consumers for Affordable Health Care
* Timothy Stoltzfus Jost: Professor, Washington and Lee University School of Law
* Kathleen Gmeiner: Project Director, UHCAN Ohio
* Karrol Kitt: Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin
* Peter Kochenburger: Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law
* Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne: Consumer Advocate, Avon, CT
* Sarah Lueck: Health Policy Analyst, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
* Jennifer Mishory: Deputy Director, Young Invincibles
* Andrea J. Routh: Missouri Health Advocacy Alliance
* Daniel Schwarcz: Associate Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School
* Barbara Yondorf: President: Colorado Consumer Health Initiative
* Birny Birnbaum: Executive Director, Center for Economic Justice*
* Stephen Finan: Senior Director of Policy, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
* Carrie Fitzgerald: Senior Policy Advisor for Health, First Focus
* Howard Goldblatt: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud
* Marguerite Herman: Consumer Advocate, Project Healthcare
* Adam Linker: Health Policy Analyst, North Carolina Justice Center
* Stephanie Mohl: Government Relations Manager, American Heart Association
* Lynn Quincy: Senior Policy Analyst, Consumers Union
* Stuart Spielman: Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel, Autism Speaks
* Cindy Zeldin: Executive Director, Georgians for a Healthy Future

Health Access California promotes quality, affordable health care for all Californians.
VIEW THE FILE Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: