Committee rosters in the Senate…

Amidst the excitement of the budget, Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg unveiled the new committee assignments for 2010.

For health advocates, here’s the relevant committees:

* Appropriations – Kehoe (Chair), Cox (Vice Chair), Alquist, Corbett, Denham, Leno, Liu, Price, Walters, Wyland, Yee

* Budget and Fiscal Review – Ducheny (Chair), Dutton (Vice Chair), Alquist, Ashburn, DeSaulnier, Huff, Leno, Liu, Lowenthal, Maldonado, Negrete-McLeod, Padilla, Simitian, Walters, Wright
* Sub 3 on Health and Human Services– Leno (Chair), Alquist, Ashburn

* Health – Alquist (Chair), Strickland (Vice Chair), Aanestad, Cedillo, Cox, Leno, Negrete-McLeod, Pavley, Romero

On the Health Committee, there are 9 members, 6 Democrats. This means that if a bill is to pass Health Committee, and all Republicans oppose it, it can’t lose more than one of the Democratic votes.

Health Access California promotes quality, affordable health care for all Californians.
VIEW THE FILE Legislation

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: