Assembly chairs…

Assembly Speaker Karen Bass just announced chairs of committees, both policy committees (which we largely knew) and budget subcommittees (which we didn’t). We are still awaiting the membership rosters, to see how hard it will be to pass legislation this year.

The biggest news is that first-term Assemblymember Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo), Chair will chair Budget Subcommittee #1 for Health and Human Services. He was a former San Mateo County Supervisor, which did some innovative work on expanding health coverage and providing health services, and so should come with real-world knowledge about the impacts of the health and human services cuts that he will be reviewing.

Here’s the chairs and vice-chairs of other committees of interest to health consumer advocates:

Assm. Dave Jones, D-Sacramento, chair
Assm. Nathan Fletcher, R-San Diego, vice chair

Accountability and Administrative Review:
Assm. Hector De La Torre, D-South Gate, chair
Assm. Audra Strickland, R-Thousand Oaks, vice chair

Assm. Kevin De León, D-Los Angeles, chair
Assm. Jim Nielsen, R-Gerber, vice chair

Assm. Noreen Evans, D-Santa Rosa, chair
Assm. Roger Niello, R-Fair Oaks, vice chair

Revenue and Taxation:
Assm. Charles Calderon, D-Montebello, Chair
Assm. Chuck DeVore, R-Irvine, Vice Chair

Assm. Ted Lieu, D-Torrance, Chair
Assm. Sam Blakeslee, R-San Luis Obispo, Vice Chair

Health Access California promotes quality, affordable health care for all Californians.
VIEW THE FILE Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: