HEALTH ACCESS ALERT

Thursday, January 9, 2003

* GOVERNOR TO PROPOSE 2003-04 BUDGET FRIDAY, WITH REVENUES & MAJOR CUTS

Governor Davis is scheduled to announce his 2003-04 budget tomorrow, Friday, January 10th, at 1:00pm. In the past, this event has been frequently delayed until later in the afternoon. The full budget will be posted on the California Department of Finance web site at www.dof.ca.gov, probably late in the day. The budget is expected to include major cuts beyond what was proposed for mid-year reductions in December, as well as some increases in revenues. Health Access will put out an update over the weekend detailing the proposed health care cuts.

* ASSEMBLY BUDGET SUBCOMMITTEES TO CONSIDER MID-YEAR CUTS IN WEDNESDAY HEARINGS

Assembly Budget Subcommittees will hold hearings in Sacramento next week, tentatively scheduled for Wednesday, January 15th, to consider the proposed mid-year reductions. The Assembly Budget Subcommittee #1 on Health and Human Services will consider, among other items, the cuts to Medi-Cal that would directly deny basic health coverage to a half-million Californians, and would cut medically necessary health benefits and access to providers to millions of others in working families. The Assembly subcommittee, and the larger budget committee, will be voting on these proposed cuts before the end of January. The Senate has yet to announce its intentions.

* ACTION: WRITE ASSEMBLY MEMBERS TO SUPPORT REVENUES, OPPOSE HEALTH CUTS

Please mail/fax letters to the following Assembly members ASAP. Tell them to support increased revenues to prevent severe cuts to health care and other vital services. Tell them to vote down the proposed Medi-Cal cuts that the Legislature appropriately rejected last year as too severe. The attached scorecard describes the proposed mid-year cuts.

* Herb Wesson, Speaker, Dem-47

State Capitol, P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0001

(916) 319-2047, Fax: (916) 319.2147, Assemblymember.Wesson@assembly.ca.gov

* Dave Cox, Republican Floor Leader, Rep-05

State Capitol, Room 3104, Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 319-2005, Fax: (916) 319-2105, Assemblymember.Cox@assembly.ca.gov

* Jenny Oropeza, Budget Committee Chair, Dem-55

State Capitol, Room 6026 Sacramento, CA 94249-0001

(916) 319-2055, Fax: (916) 319-2155, Assemblymember.Oropeza@assembly.ca.gov

* John Campbell, Budget Committee Vice Chair, Rep-70

State Capitol, Room 6027, Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 319-2070, Fax: (916) 319-2170, Assemblymember.John.Campbell@assembly.ca.gov

* Judy Chu, Budget Subcommittee Chair, Dem-49

State Capitol, Room 2148, Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 319-2049, Fax: (916) 319-2149

* Mervyn M. Dymally, Dem-52

State Capitol, Room 3132, Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 319-2052, Fax: (916) 319-2152, Assemblymember.dymally@assembly.ca.gov

* Dario Frommer, Dem-43

P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0043

(916) 319-2043, Fax: (916) 319-2143, Assemblymember.Frommer@assembly.ca.gov

* Ray Haynes, Rep-66

State Capitol, Room 4158, Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 319-2066, Fax: (916) 319-2166, Assemblymember.haynes@assembly.ca.gov

* Robert Pacheco, Rep-60

State Capitol, Room 5164, Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 319-2060, Fax: (916) 319-2160, Assemblymember.Bob.Pacheco@assembly.ca.gov



Anthony E. Wright

Health Access

1127 11th St., #234, Sacramento, CA 95814

Ph: 916-442-2308, Fx: 916-497-0921

awright@health-access.org

Health Access California promotes quality, affordable health care for all Californians.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: